Because of the North East Passage it has become quite common for me to be lying in bed absolutely convinced that I was at the helm.

We’re now in the North West Passage proper.  We’re further east than the outermost islands of the massive archipelago that is northern Canada.  We are also two thirds of the way round the world.  We reached one twenty degrees late yesterday night and are now in the last third of our trip.  For the past couple of days we’ve had the moat extraordinary luck with the wind, swell and current, they’ve all been behind us.  I think we’re doing an average of about seven and a half knots, continue like this and we’ll be in Upernavik in eight days time.  I really hope we continue like this.  During the trip I’ve found that I’ve actually thought very little about back home.  You just accept this as your life and it feels like it’s gone on forever.  When I have thought about home I’ve discovered that I don’t miss anything, it’d just be really nice to have it again.  It makes sense in my head.  Because of the North East Passage it has become quite common for me to be lying in bed absolutely convinced that I was at the helm.  The usual thing that would happen is I’d think I could see some ice ahead that I’d have to steer round and then a little voice turns up saying, “It’s not your problem.”

“Isn’t it?”

“No.”

“Why not?”

“You’re not at the helm, you’re off watch.”

“Am I?”

“Yes. You’re in bed.”

“Then why is my hand so cold?”

“Because you’ve got it sticking out of your bunk.”

“Have I?”

“Yes.”

“Really?”

“Yes, move it.”

“Oh.  Okay.”

“Now go to sleep.”

“Okay.” And then I turn over and go back to sleep.  It happens surprisingly often.  I wish it wouldn’t.

That’s all for today.  I’ll write to you again when something interesting happens.  Or we get to Upernavik, whichever happens first.  Bye.

Leave a Reply

